Will the chat still work if the video/network goes down?
Yes, if the host loses connectivity during a live show, viewers will still be able to chat.Delete
Can the host see the chat messages?
Yes, the broadcasting app is showing the comments. Note: The interface is slightly different.Delete
Why is there a delay in chat messages from the host?
Chat messages from both the host and moderator are always synced with the actual point of time in the video. This means that if a viewer is on a 10s delay compared to the host streaming the show, the viewer will see chat messages from the host with the exact same delay as the video.Delete
Is there a character limit to a user's chat name?
Yes, the standard limit is 20 characters, but upon request, we can limit this to 10.Delete
How many characters before the pinned message need to expand?
Ca 69 characters from a mobile view, and ca 89 from a desktop view.Delete
Is there a character limit to a chat message?
There’s a max 170 characters limit for end-users, but no limitation for moderation. However, we recommend keeping it short for a better user experience. End-users will see the number of limits in the comment field when the number of characters exceeds the limit.Delete
How will a viewer be notified if we block them in the chat?
The viewer will not be notified once the moderator blocks them. A viewer being blocked will not notice and they can continue to post in the chat. However, their posts will only be visible to themselves and not to anyone else.Delete
Is there a limit on how many chat messages can be displayed in the player?
To prevent the chat from becoming flooded when there are thousands of viewers chatting at the same time, we limit the number of messages displayed in the video player to 2 posts per second.Delete
Is it possible to send a link in the chat?
Yes, and if you add 'https://' in front of the URL it will be clickable as well. Note! Only moderators can send links.Delete
How does the block chat user work?
Both host and moderator can block a commenter (chat user) from the app or through the moderate view on the dashboard. Once a commenter is blocked, all messages sent by the blocked user will be silently disregarded. It means that no one but the blocked user can see the comments from the blocked user.
At what level does the blocking work?
The chat blocking feature is based on browser local storage. So, the user remains blocked only on the same device and browser session. Bambuser does not offer IP-based chat blocking due to GDPR policies.
Can a blocked user comment on another show?
The blocked commenter remains blocked on all shows from the same dashboard (organization).
How long will the user remain blocked?
Unless the browser local storage is flushed, the user stays blocked in the same browser session.